Sonata No. 28

Classical sonata from 1816


Ludwig van Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 28 in A major, Op. 101, was written in 1816 and was dedicated to the pianist Baroness Dorothea Ertmann, née Graumen. This sonata marks the beginning of what is generally regarded as Beethoven's final period, where the forms are more complex, ideas more wide-ranging, textures more polyphonic, and the treatment of the themes and motifs even more sophisticated than before. Op.101 well exemplified this new style, and Beethoven exploits the newly expanded keyboard compass of the day.

This piano sonata consists of four movements:

Etwas lebhaft und mit der innigsten Empfindung. (Somewhat lively and with innermost sensibility.) Allegretto ma non troppo

Lebhaft, marschmäßig. (Lively, march-like.) Vivace alla marcia

Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll. (Slow and longingly.) Adagio ma non troppo, con affetto

Geschwind, doch nicht zu sehr und mit Entschlossenheit. (Swiftly, but not overly and with determination.) Allegro

Year 1816
Time Period Classical
Opus Op. 101
Key A Major
Instrumentation Piano
  • Allegretto ma non troppo
  • Vivace alla marcia
  • Adagio ma non troppo con affetto
  • Allegro ma non troppo


Sonate No. 28
Breitkopf and Härtel 1816


Beethoven Sonata No. 28, Op. 101
Vladimir Ashkenazy in a series of legendary recitals, filmed by Christopher Nupen's camera. A few ...
Add video