Appalachian Spring Suite

20th century ballet suite

Aaron Copland


Appalachian Spring is a composition by Aaron Copland that premiered in 1944 and has achieved widespread and enduring popularity as an orchestral suite. The ballet, scored for a thirteen-member chamber orchestra, was created upon commission of choreographer and dancer Martha Graham with funds from the Coolidge Foundation. It premiered on Monday, 30 October 1944 at the Library of Congress in Washington DC, with Martha Graham dancing the lead role. The set was designed by the Japanese American sculptor Isamu Noguchi. Copland was awarded the 1945 Pulitzer Prize for Music for his achievement.

Year 1944
Time Period 20th century
Instrumentation Symphony orchestra
  • Very slowly
  • Allegro
  • Moderato: The Bride and her Intended
  • Fast: The Revivalist and his Flock
  • Allegro: Solo Dance of the Bride
  • Meno mosso
  • Doppio Movt: Variations on a Shaker Hymn
  • Coda: Moderato
  • Appalachian Spring



Add video