Modest Mussorgsky


Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky (Russian: Модест Петрович Мусоргский; IPA: [mɐˈdɛst pʲɪˈtrovʲɪtɕ ˈmusərkskʲɪj]; 21 March [O.S. 9 March] 1839 – 28 March [O.S. 16 March] 1881) was a Russian composer, one of the group known as "The Five". He was an innovator of Russian music in the romantic period. He strove to achieve a uniquely Russian musical identity, often in deliberate defiance of the established conventions of Western music.



Night on Bald Mountain, Brass Quintet
Cimarron Music Press 1867
Mussorgsky, et al.
Eine Nacht auf dem Kahlen Berge
Universal Edition 1867
Mussorgsky, et al.
Night on Bald Mountain
Cimarron Music Press 1867
Mussorgsky, et al.
Selected Pieces from Pictures at an Exhibition
Universal Edition 1874
Birch, et al.
Pictures from an Exhibition
Wilhelm Hansen 1874
Borovsky, et al.
Pictures at an Exhibition
J. & W. Chester 1874
Howarth, et al.